Looking and Finding • Detecting Common Threads

Alf Pitcher, my father-in-law was in the Royal Navy during the Second World War. My husband clearly remembers playing with his Dad’s Royal Navy issue sewing kit and now after searching the old sideboard in the living room my brother-in-law John has found it and I have it safely stored for inclusion in my 2018 exhibition.

and in a similar vein this memory from H. Wade.

H Wade

I have now catalogued hundreds of your memories and have been looking for some common threads. Knitting, crochet and sewing dominate. No surprise really as most of the memories were collected at the Knitting & Stitching Shows.

Of the knitting memories I found this one from Pamela Richardson particularly fascinating.
“While in the Navy, Uncle Sid learnt to knit and throughout their married life they would share the knitting of any garment. Auntie Joyce would knit the front and back and Uncle Sid the sleeves. It worked for them.” This is a beautifully visual memory and I can just see them sitting either side of a fireplace in armchairs; she knitting the body and he knitting the sleeves.

Pamela Richardson - Uncle Sid & Auntie Joyce

Pamela’s Uncle Sid and Auntie Joyce Jaggs at their wedding in 1953

Here’s an interesting a fashion faux pas from Maggie!

maggie

…………. and I’ve been experimenting with printed paper, organza and stitch – memory of a paper dress from Susan Enticknap. Experimentation gives me some more thinking time.

Clear thought is essential for me to process what I’m actually going to make.  More soon .

 

Leave a comment