6th Riga International Textile and Fibre Art Triennial Tradition and Innovation on the theme: Identity! 

In 2018 Latvia will celebrate the centenary anniversary of the Republic of Latvia and the Triennial will be part of the festivity cultural programme. I am delighted, and as usual very relieved when I send my artwork abroad, to say that my work I Am Me has arrived in Riga for the 6th Riga International Textile and Fibre Art Triennial Tradition and Innovation on the theme: Identity! I Am Me is one of 85 artworks  from 28 countries chosen for the exhibition from 218 applications.

The exhibition opens on 6 June 2018 at 4 p.m at the Arsenāls Exhibition Hall, Riga  (Torņa St. 1) and will run until September 9, 2018.

Stone,Sue_This_is_ Me

I Am Me – Artist’s Statement

Individuality, distinctiveness, uniqueness form our identity; who or what we are. Visual decoration or types of clothing may suggest class, culture, creed, religion or ethnicity. The outer shell and its various wrappings; skin, clothing, accessories, may alter and transform my appearance as they change. 

This work, made up of 12 self-portraits, is inspired by the humankind’s urge to categorise. Whoever you think you see in these images the person portrayed remains the same throughout. It is me and the viewer is asked to form their own opinion of who I really am.

Stone,Sue,tattoos2

I Am Me – Tattoos

This is Me

I Am Me – Hilda

Stone,Sue,Orange_yellow _turban1

I Am Me – Turban 2

Stone,Sue,punk

I Am Me – punk

This is Me

I Am Me 4

This is me

I Am Me 6

This is me

I Am Me 9

Stone,Sue,Bow

I Am Me – Iris

This is Me

I Am Me 12

This is me

I Am Me 1

This is Me

I Am Me 7

4 thoughts on “6th Riga International Textile and Fiber Art Triennial • 6 June to 9 September 2018

Leave a comment