Afghanistan Inspiration European Tour is still in progress

       
To see details of the tour please visit:   www.oneearthtextiles.co.uk.  
My piece  ‘A Mug for Maida ‘ can be seen next at Verona Tessile, 8 to 13 March 2011,
Galleria d’Arte Moderna Palazzo Forti – Volto Due Mori, 4 , Verona, Italy


I had just finished reading ‘ A Thousand Splendid Suns’ by Khaled Hosseini  when I came across the Afghanistan Inspiration project on the ‘Embroidery’ magazine website. The life of the women in Afghanistan is so difficult and so very different to my own. I knew right away I wanted to be involved in this project. The square I chose for my inspiration was stitched by Maida. I chose this square mainly because the colours and shapes are ones I would use in my own work. I have tried to echo the design of Maida’s square using the same colours and zigzag design to compliment the original shapes. I wanted to make Maida’s original piece ‘the star of the show’ by placing it as the decoration on my own vessel , a coffee mug. The resulting collaboration is a small hanging made with a mixture of hand and machine embroidery combined with applique.


Leave a Reply

